9 Months In, 9 Months Out

9-month-old-baby-photo

Ollie is 9 months old today, and I know this is cliche, but I cannot believe where the time has gone!  I’ve felt this way as each month has past, but to think that we’ve had Ollie now for as long as Kaitlyn was pregnant feels like a way bigger deal.

Time flies guys, and if you’re like me, you have a hard time living in the moment.  I’m perpetually second guessing myself.  Wondering.  Worrying.  Failing to live presently.

Well, speaking as the driver of this train of thinking, let me tell you: it never goes anywhere.  Worrying about how much money is in my bank account never results in money miraculously appearing in it.  Wondering if I should have chosen a different major in college doesn’t help me move forward; it holds me back.

Don’t get me wrong, learning from the past in order to make wiser decisions is definitely smart.  But “worry” and “second-guessing” doesn’t have to be part of it!

The last two weeks for me have been some of the hardest I’ve had in a while, and it’s so easy to let my circumstances steal my joy.  It’s so easy to go back and forth between checking out and coasting and dwelling on things for far too long.  Is anyone else there?

Well, unfortunately, I don’t have the remedy for this.  But the way I see it is that I have an opportunity.  I have an opportunity to choose joy over worry.  In fact, today, I think I have a responsibility to do this!

I’m going to celebrate the little things, aka, Ollie’s 9 month birthday.  I don’t mean we’re throwing a party or anything.  I just mean, instead of begrudgingly helping pose a squirming, rolling Ollie for Kaitlyn as she eagerly snaps her monthly update pictures, I’m going to appreciate that I get I get to do this at all.  Instead of saying to Kaitlyn “it’s pointless” or “let’s just give up” when Ollie is barrel rolling across the living room while she’s trying to snap a few pics, I’m going to enjoy my little guy’s personality.  I’m going to enjoy his smile and childlike innocence and joy.  I’m going to choose to love these moments as they’re happening rather than ending up looking back and wondering, “where did all the time go?”

How can you choose joy over worry?

 

Leave a Reply

